To celebrate Susanna’s birthday, I wanted to cook something flavorful but decided against my fool-proof roast chicken (inspired by Ina Garten and Alice Waters) because it was too warm in SF last week to leave my oven on for 2 hours.  I thought of doing Asian flavors in pizzas and after googling found some great combo ideas!

Use my pizza dough recipe.

Thai Pizza

Adapted from

Pizza Ingredients:
1/2 cup  peanut sauce (see below)
1 cup cooked chicken (torn into bite sized pieces)
1 carrot (julienned)
1 handful bean sprouts
2 green onions (chopped)
2 handfuls mozzarella cheese (grated)
1 handful peanuts (chopped)
1 handful cilantro (chopped)

1. Spread the peanut sauce over the pizza dough.
2. Sprinkle the chicken, carrot, cheese and peanuts onto the pizza.
3. Bake in a preheated 400F oven until crust is golden brown and toppings are cooked, about 15-20 minutes.
4. Add the bean sprouts and green onions during the last 5 minutes of baking.
5. Sprinkle the cilantro on top of the pizza.

Peanut Sauce

1 tablespoons canola oil
3 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon chili sauce
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 tablespoons peanuts (roasted and crushed)

1. Heat the oil in a pan.
2. Add everything else and simmer to thicken it a bit, about 2-3 minutes.

Pizza ingredients.

Spread the peanut sauce and sprinkle on the mozarella.

Throw on the bean sprouts and green onions 5 minutes before pizzas are done.

Ready to eat! I love making my crusts thin...

Korean Pizzas

Kimchi Spam Pizza

I didn’t have pork belly on hand and didn’t want to buy pounds of it from the Korean market, so I used…gasp! SPAM. Lite.

Adapted from

1 tablespoon gochujang
Kimchi juice
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 clove garlic crushed

Pizza Ingredients:
1 cup mozarella (optional)
1 cup chopped spam (1/2 container) or less
Chopped kimchi

1. Spread sauce over pizza dough.
2.  Sprinkle mozarella if desired.  Place a layer of kimchi and spam.
3.  Bake pizza at 400°F for 20 minutes until crust is golden brown.

Lightly brown the spam before you place on pizza.

Do a half/half pizza - experiment with cheese!

Bulgogi Pizza with Jalepeños

My favorite toppings!

I love the bulgogi sandwich in Berkeley.  It’s the Korean version of a Philly Cheesesteak…California style.  This was the winning pizza for Susanna and my boyfriend.

Pizza Ingredients

  • Bulgogi (uncooked)
  • Mozarella
  • Jalepeño, sliced
  • Onions, thinly sliced

Sauce (use above)
What flavors should I try next?